Tea Time, Part 1

Our agency has been working on media relations for the 2009 PGA Championship for two years and tournament week is finally here! Tomorrow morning begins seven fantastic days of golf’s greats coming to Minnesota. But since I’ll have an entire week to talk about golf, I thought I’d celebrate the kick-off  of the week with the other kind of tee time – English high tea!

Living and working in London after college brought me a new level of appreciation for tea. While my aunt, cousins and Grandma visited over Christmas that year, we were lucky enough to have high tea at Brown’s Hotel.  It was exactly as I had imagined it would be – hot tea, tiny sandwiches and little tarts and cookies piled on sterling silver towers.

luxury-hotel-package-deal-brown-hotel-london

Brown’s Hotel, London

brown hotel tea

High tea at Brown’s

My sister Laura was sweet enough to surprise me with high tea at the Peninsula in Chicago when I returned from my adventures overseas. I was so touched and traumatized from having to leave my favorite city in the world that I remember fighting back tears the entire time we were there. Nevertheless, it was fun, thoughtful and very memorable. 

peninsula

The Peninsula

the peninsula

Do you take sugar?

Leave a Reply

