It’s not goodbye, it’s see you later!

As I mentioned in my earlier post, I heart NY, my good friend Renee is moving to NYC tomorrow. It’s been in the works for more than a year and she’s definitely not the first friend that has moved away but I still can’t believe she’s actually moving! As I told her, I’m sure it will officially sink in once I haven’t seen her in two weeks and realize that it’s not because we’re just really busy and it’s because she’s actually halfway across the country.

Renee and I were friends in college but we became much closer after I returned from London and later when we were rooomates for a year. I value her friendship more and more as the days go by- not just because she has amazing taste in fashion, likes weird movies and cheesy history tours, will tell you the honest truth, loves costume parties and Gossip Girl, is ready for a night out at the drop of a hat (and will be the last one to close down the bar), or because she makes a fantastic travel companion.

It’s because when Patti got home from the hospital after giving her baby up for adoption she stayed in with us to talk and cry while everyone else celebrated St. Patty’s Day at the bar. And she was the one who came over instantly when I broke up with my last boyfriend and got me to stop crying long enough to go shoe shopping as a distraction. And because as dozens of our friends have gotten married, engaged or moved in with boyfriends in the last two years, she’s reminded me that just because you’ve hit the mid-20s mark it’s okay to be the single girl still fumbling around in your love life. And that, perhaps, someday you may realize you don’t want that or find it at a different time, and that’s okay, too. 

She’s encouraged me to take risks, stand up for myself and embrace who I am and who I’m becoming. And hopefully I’ve done that for her as well.

I know NYC is not across the globe and this now gives me a free couch in one of the best cities in the world, but I’m still sad to see her go. Re, congratulations on making a dream come true. You’ll take NYC by storm and the next time I see you you’ll be even more fabulous than you are now! I love you, will miss you and am very proud of you.

St. Thomas Homecoming 2008

A gift for Renee

“After all, things change, so do cities. People come into your life and they go. But it’s comforting to know that the ones you love are always in your heart…and if you’re very lucky, a plane ride away.”
 – Carrie, Sex and the City

3 thoughts on “It’s not goodbye, it’s see you later!

  1. Couldn’t have said it better, Emo! Renee, I <3 you, and I'm SO GLAD one of my girls will be closer to me! Emo, this just means you're going to have to come out East MUCH more often! ;) xoxo

  2. And for the record… I still have tears in my eyes over the comment about Renee coming over after I left the hospital. You two will *never* understand how much that means to me.

  3. Em, this seriously makes me cry every time I read it! I love you, and you don’t know how much it means to have your love and support as I make this transition. Can’t wait for you to come visit! PR, I love you, too. Us rats will always have each others’ backs – er – tails :)

Leave a Reply

