An Ode to Magazines

Magazines, oh, magazines – how do I love thee? Let me count the ways.

If you couldn’t already tell by the number of times I’ve mentioned magazines in other posts, let me be clear – I love magazines. I know it’s not very green of me to love something made entirely out of paper but I can’t help it. I’ve always loved them and as Emma Thompson teaches us in Love Actually, true love lasts a lifetime.

There’s something about the glossy pages, image-heavy layout, 4-color printing and multitude of fonts that sucks me in the minute I see one. And magazines are becoming a dying art – just today Conde Nast announced it’s folding Gourmet, Cookie, Modern Bride and Elegant Bride. To many, 70-year-old Gourmet was the official word of the foodies and are devastated to see it go. And for the publications that are still alive, the constant budget cuts and reduced spending from advertisers are sucking the last hope from their sinking ships.

stack-of-magazines

What will happen if things continue as they are…where would we be without magazines? Would the Devil Wears Prada be the same if she worked at a Web site? Who would Anna Wintour be without the glossy pages of Vogue? Where would thousands of people everywhere find inspiration for that killer app for the next cocktail party or recipe for the family’s new favorite dinner? What would I find each month reaching into the mailbox, aside from bills?

Or will they all turn to digital, less ad-dependent versions like Lonny? Granted, it’s probably more Earth-friendly and I’m as big of an online pub or blog fan as the next person, but it’s not the same curling up in bed or lounging by your pool with your laptop or iPhone instead of a magazine. In my world, both are needed to achieve perfect order in the universe. 

To do my part to save the magazines (but not necessarily the trees), I’ve recently subscribed to three more: Food Network Magazine, House Beautiful and Real Simple. I’ve been a Lucky subscriber since its inception and am still mourning the loss of Domino since it folded last year. I encourage you all to do the same – find one that interests you and subscribe. I guarantee you’ll be hooked. How else can you get a year’s worth of satisfaction for a mere $10-20?

And for those of you looking to preserve your beloved glossies, consider having them bound into books.

So as you’re doing your part to save the magazines, I’m going to curl up in bed with my newest issue of Food Network Magazine. Goodnight!

Food Network Magazine

2 thoughts on “An Ode to Magazines

  1. I don’t even understand how this is possible considering that I think I single-handedly keep a dozen publications on the stands with my monthly purchases of magazines. It’s all those sleazies that work at Borders!

Leave a Reply

