Resourcefulness.

Resourcefulness. Is it a virtue? A talent? Are people innately resourceful or is it a skill you can develop through focus? Perhaps it goes hand-in-hand with creativity?

I’d like to think of myself as a resourceful person. At work, I aim to be cognizant of never presenting a problem without a solution. My greatest annoyance at work is when we come to a dead end in the road and someone says “we can’t make it happen.” We’re a creative industry for pete’s sake, use that creativity to come up with a solution!

Lately, however, I seem to have lost that sense of resourcefulness in my personal life. For some reason I look through my closet jammed full of clothes every morning and think “Wow, I have nothing to wear.” I seem to think that I have to buy new boots, coats, hats, sweaters, accessories every turn of the season. Maybe it’s because I like shopping. Maybe it’s because I can’t resist something shiny and new. Maybe I’m not being resourceful and creative enough with what I already own to make it feel new.

Tonight when leaving work I was thinking about all of things I wanted to buy at Anthropologie during last night’s visit  as I passed a woman from the building cleaning crew. I wondered if this was her second job, working during the day and cleaning buildings at night to make ends meet. And then I realized how selfish I felt.

I’ve been digging around on Web sites and blogs lately to find fun new things to post and in the process somehow internalized it as wanting to BUY, BUY, BUY! I had four packages delivered to my office yesterday, all things I had purchased online in the last week. (Clearly the recession hasn’t phased me as it should have.)

So at that moment I made a vow to myself to be more resourceful. 

The next time I go to throw out potatoes from the night before just because leftovers gross me out, I’m going to attempt to salvage them with some rosemary and salt and pepper. I’m going to take my friend Christine’s advice and turn my hangers the opposite direction in my closet once I wear something so that I’m making use of every article of clothing that I own. And I’m going to see if I can spice up a piece of furniture I own with small changes before taking another trip to IKEA, both because it will be more resourceful and because it will have more character.

To give myself some credit, the other day I transformed a fashion risk (and mistake) from last season into a new pair of boots with a few snips of the scissors and was pretty darn excited with the result.

If you can relate to what I’m saying, I encourage you to strive for the same. For inspiration, check out some of the links below:

Been Sherman

“Been Sherman” pillows made of old shirts
Etsy.com, seller thischickadee

Window before

Window after

Before & after: Maggie’s window revamp from Design*Sponge

Colored Tights

Colored tights from American Apparel.
Mix up your accessories to bring new life to clothes you already own!

 Toilet Paper Vase

Use a tall vase for toilet paper storage.
RealSimple.com’s article “Get Organized Using Everyday Items

One thought on “Resourcefulness.

  1. I love these ideas (especially the toilet paper holder and the reused window frame/bulletin board)! I’m actually motivated now to do some decorating! And it’s my first time being referenced in a blog post:)

Leave a Reply

