Merry Martha Wannabe: Chapter 4

I found the camera cord! Which means I have photos. So much to catch up on!

A little more than a week ago my food friend and former roomie Alison came over to drink hot apple cider, bake sugar cookies, eat pizza and watch White Christmas. Can you think of a better Sunday afternoon in December? We were cookie-making machines – Al even wore her most festive socks for the occasion! Check out the products of our efforts; I think they’re pretty good lookin’ to say so myself. They taste AMAZING and I have to keep myself from eating a dozen at a time.
 

To tackle my next holiday project, I decided to make roasted nuts and toffee with chocolate and sea salt as gifts for friends and co-workers this year. I found the toffee recipe online at Culinate.com and it turned out great – good reviews so far! It was actually really easy, too. You can find the recipe here but here’s a brief overview of how it happened:

I started by greasing a baking sheet with butter, and chopping up nuts and chocolate. The recipe calls for semisweet chocolate chips or chopped chocolate pieces and I made a mixture of both since I had a Guittard chocolate bar on hand. 

Next, you take a pound of butter (eek!) and chop them into smaller pieces and add to a saucepan with sugar and a little bit of salt to melt. It takes some attention to melt the butter until the hard-crack stage (300 degrees) without burning it, so be sure to read the directions carefully. (And I recommend a candy thermometer.)

 

Once it reaches 300 degrees, you pour the mixture into your greased pan and spread with a metal spatula. Next, add nuts and wait a few minutes; then add chocolate and let melt a few minutes before spreading with the spatula again. Let it cool for about 10 minutes, then sprinkle with sea salt. Pop it in the freezer to cool and you’re done!


Mmmmmm…delish!

Leave a Reply

