An Anniversary

Saturday was the one-year anniversary of my foot surgery. I know that’s a weird thing to mark as an anniversary but it’s something that’s been on my mind a lot the last few days and I’ve become nostalgic.

I tend to be a huge baby if I don’t feel well and although it’s never fun to be sick, I find an element of comfort in being taken care of. I think it’s because my wonderful mother loved taking care of her girls when they weren’t feeling well (and still does!) and I’ve always been able to count on her lending a concerned ear from afar if I’m under the weather.   

When I had my surgery last year, I was ordered to stay in bed and off my foot for four weeks which meant although I was 26 years old, I suddenly required a 24-hour babysitter. Luckily for me I had an AMAZING handful of loved ones who gladly stepped up to the challenge and camped out in my apartment for weeks tending to my every need.

And although I look back and can remember the pain, nausea, fear, needles, headaches, frustration and lack of sleep and independence, I’m kind of missing it right now. Because along with it came four weeks of hanging out with no work, no plans and no obligations. It was the first time in YEARS that I got to spend one-on-one bonding time with my mom for multiple days in a row. We spent hours watching LOST episodes in my bed while eating Papa Murphy’s and orange sherbet. My (then) boyfriend brought over Nintendo and board games and made fondue in our pajamas for Valentine’s Day. I hobbled down the aisle of a church on crutches as my nephew’s godmother at his baptism.

It’s a blur to look back on (probably because of all the strong pain meds) but I actually look back at those four weeks with a lot of really fond memories. That’s probably strange for most people to say but when you’re a single independent girl who lives away from her family, it’s nice to have a reason to take a break and be taken care of every now and then.  

Thank God for amazing loved ones and pain meds!

One thought on “An Anniversary

Leave a Reply

