Hot Chicago Eats

I was in Chicago last weekend and as normally happens when traveling, I had lots of GOOOOOD food! Here’s a snapshot of the weekend through the food lens:

Like any good aunt, I bought my nephew an ice cream treat at the park while babysitting. We shared — and I got the bites with lots of toddler drool.

After a full day of chasing around a toddler, it was time for DELICIOUS tapas and sangria with super fun ladies at Twist in Wrigleyville. We of course ate until we couldn’t see straight…and then continued with more cocktails!

Although we were a bit sluggish (to say the least!) on Saturday, we made it out to Chicago’s French Market with the family, purchasing beautiful French macaroons, Belgian french fries and artisan cheese.

On Easter Sunday we had a delicious brunch at the sis and bro-in-law’s with hot coffee, homemade scones and asparagus strata. Cheers to Chef Laura!

As if that wasn’t enough, I snagged an amazingly delicious sandwich from Chicago Bagel Authority on Monday for lunch. They steam their bagels and have a giant list of sandwich choices, including breakfast, veggie and bacon bagels named after Chicago hot spots and local celebrities. My choice? The Oak Pork BLT: chive cream cheese, bacon, smoked cheddar, lettuce, tomato, avocado, and garlic mayo on an everything bagel. DELISH!

And of course I couldn’t leave without spoiling my nephew once more by buying him a buttermilk cake donut from The Goddess & Grocer during a neighborhood stroll. What can I say? The little guy’s persistent and I can only say “no” to those baby blues and his hopeful “donut?” request so many times.

So what’s on the menu this week? Lots of exercise!

One thought on “Hot Chicago Eats

Leave a Reply

