A Windy New Adventure

For the better part of the last year there’s been a dream/project of mine that I haven’t been able to write about on this blog because of work (although I may have dropped a hint or two or three), so today is a big day for me since I finally get to type…I’M MOVING TO CHICAGO!

For years I have been daydreaming about and toying with the idea of moving to the Windy City. I love the energy of big cities, my sister/bro-in-law/nephew are there, it’s closer to my family than Mpls, and it’s just overall an awesome place to be.

Understandably, deciding to leave my job, friends and life that I’ve known for the last nine years in Minnesota has been scary and challenging to coordinate so it’s taken a while for me to pull the trigger. But after years of talking about it, it became clear last summer that it was time to make it happen. 

I never thought that once I got serious about this move that it would take 10 months for it to actually happen, so there have been many times in the last year that I have felt frustrated, unmotivated, lost or stuck. Thankfully, I have amazing friends and family who have supported and encouraged me when I felt like it was never going to happen. It was with their nudges that I decided last month to just go and do it, whatever that meant for job prospects or living situations.

Although there have been times during the last 10 months that I thought it was the “perfect opportunity” for me to go, and have been disappointed when it didn’t work out, I have to believe things happen for a reason and I wasn’t meant to leave until now. That’s easy to believe, too, because suddenly in the last two weeks things have completely fallen into place. I’m going to stay with my agency and work remotely from a sister agency on Michigan Ave, thanks in part to a current campaign where it makes perfect sense for me to actually be in Chicago. A friend-of-a-friend (who I think is awesome) needs a roommate for her place three blocks from my sister, so I’m moving in there in June! How perfect is that?!

So, in four short weeks I’ll be packing up my stuff and moving on to a new adventure in Chi-town. I’m nervous for the big transition but very, very excited! Who knows what the Windy City will bring…keep reading and you’ll find out!

Perhaps, if we never veered off course…we wouldn’t fall in love, or have babies, or be who we are. After all, seasons change. So do cities. People come into your life and people go. But it’s comforting to know the ones you love are always in your heart…and, if you’re very lucky…a plane ride away.”Carrie Bradshaw, Sex and the City

7 thoughts on “A Windy New Adventure

  1. Check this off your vision board :)

    I am so happy for you, Emily. You continue to be one of the woman “I want to be” – just like Dr. Bruess.

    Best wishes for you new adventure! I’m always up for a HH in MPLS when you are back in town :)

    – Allison

  2. Your post gave me chills. I’m so thrilled for you. Cheers to you and the adventure ahead! We’ll miss you, Kaiden. But, boy will you have stories to share when we come to visit!

    If you don’t go after what you want, you’ll never have it.
    If you don’t ask, the answer is always no.
    If you don’t step forward, you’re always in the same place.

    Nora Roberts

  3. Awww, thanks guys! :) You better believe there will be HH every day that I’m back in town and Schmidty will have to listen to ALL of my new stories. (It’s about time I got new content, right??)

    Allison, I still have yet to do my vision board but it’s still one of my favorite ideas of all time. You are talented and wise far beyond your years! I think everyone should have one!

  4. I can’t believe it’s finally happening! And HOLY SHITBALLS I can’t believe you’ve lived in the Twin Cities for NINE YEARS already!!!

    I completely freaking love the closing quote. So appropriate for so many of us!

  5. Congrats Emily! Found your post on Facebook and good for your waiting for the right time! Sometimes that’s half the battle. Your new gig sounds perfect!

  6. AHHH!! SO SO SOOOOOO exciting. And love that quote. Seriously, what a great adventure. Makes me want to make a change, STAT! Will be in Chicago in August. Perhaps I will get a chance to visit with both of the Kaiden girls?? xo

Leave a Reply

