These Shoes Were NOT Made for Walkin’

Big changes always come with a little discomfort. For me, it’s coming in two forms — the discomfort of adjusting to a totally different work environment and the physical discomfort my feet are feeling.

As I adjust to a totally different life in Chicago, footwear needs have quickly moved to the top of the list. Since I walk about 15 minutes to the train and then another 10 or 15 to my office once I get off the train, my untrained city feet have taken a beating! Tuesday I wore kitten heels and by the time I left work I had to buy flip flops from Walgreens because of the massive blisters on my heels. Yesterday and today I wore very flat flip flops and I now have aching feet and blisters on my pinky toes.

So needless to say, I’m in the market for cute walkin’ shoes with good soles! Here’s a few I’ve found so far…

 

Privo Devine Light

 

 

Nike Anthena

 

Puma Simplice SL

 

 

Crocs Malindi

 My sister is attempting to convince me to try Crocs but I’m not sure I can do it…

I see all the other ladies on the train sportin’ cute little heels, wedges and sandals. How do they do it?! Training, I guess!

 

4 thoughts on “These Shoes Were NOT Made for Walkin’

  1. Hah! Great post. In Minneapolis I *always* wore heels. (Remember the time I wore heels and a skirt to a Vikings tailgate/game?) But I haven’t worn a heel to work since I moved to DC four years ago. My shoe rotation for work now consists 100% of ballet flats. Funny how much my wardrobe has changed since I moved from having a car in Minneapolis to relying solely on public transportation in DC!

    p.s. My favorite black flats were a whopping $12.99 at Target! They’re SUPER comfy :)

  2. Oooh – I love the gold Puma’s! Confession – I have a pair of classic green crocs, and they are truly the most comfortable things. But would I wear them commuting to work in Chicago? probably not…

    What about some cute clogs?

Leave a Reply

