Spirited Art

Today while shopping in Breckenridge, we came across a fabulous art store with a very kind staff and beautiful pieces, Art on a Whim. Although there were many pieces in the store that caught our eye, one collection made us swoon.

The collection is called Spiritiles by Houston Llew and they are beautiful!  They’re molten glass on copper on a small metal canvas that can either hang or stand up. On the front side is an image and the long sides of the canvas form a quote.

Houston Llew: Best Friends, via Art on a Whim

The picture doesn’t do it justice – they’re shiny, bright, beautiful and textured. We stood there for 30 minutes or more just reading all of the quotes and melting over our favorites.

My sister ended up walking away with the one titled “Aloft” after she read it and started welling up with tears. The quote reads: “To our children we give two things – one is roots, the other wings.” (Hodding Carter)

Houston Llew: Aloft, via Art on a Whim

I had a hard time deciding – some of the images spoke to me more, some of the quotes spoke to me more. In the end, the one I selected is titled “Wheel of Fortune” and the quote reads: “Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising each time we fall.”  (Confucius)

I had a hard time picking one since there were so many I loved, so I won’t be surprised if I buy one or two more in the future. (The “Ms” one had my heart but I am a little heavy on girly art these days.) Here are a few others that I love:

Houston Llew: Ms, via Art on a Whim

Ms: “Give the girl the right shoes and she can conquer the world.” – Marilyn Monroe

Houston Llew: Wing It, via Art on a Whim

Wing It: Don’t let your feathers get ruffled over little things. Just wing it.” – Anonymous

Houston Llew: Brilliant Ride, via Art on a Whim

Brilliant Ride: “I thought of that while riding my bicycle” – Albert Einstein

Houston Llew: Charmed, via Art on a Whim

Charmed: “I’d rather be lucky than good.” – Lefty Gomez

Leave a Reply

