Makes My Heart Dance!

If you are my friend on Facebook you may have picked up on the fact that I am minorly obsessed with the show “So You Think You Can Dance” and am so excited for the finale results tonight!

If you’ve never seen the show, it sounds like another cheesy reality show with C-grade dancing but these dancers are so amazingly talented. Unlike “Dancing with the Stars”, this is not D-list celebrities trying to gain extra fame by attempting to dance. The coreography is amazing and it’s guaranteed that each week there’s at least one number that nearly brings me to tears.

I was a dancer from the ages of 4-13 and although I was far from being a dancing star, a part of me still dreams of being a ballerina or contemporary dancer flying across the stage. My experience with yoga has taught me to be thankful for the abilities of my body and the power of movement and I am inspired by what these dancers create with their bodies each week.

Here are videos of each of the three finalists – Kent, Lauren and Robert – dancing to contemporary routines by Travis Wall, one of my favorite coreographers on the show.

 

 

Kent and Neil dancing to a piece about two guys in a fight (Kent is in the white)

 

Robert and All-Star Allison – I dare you to not get goosebumps when watching this!

 

Lauren and Kent

 

I am constantly impressed by dancers and coreographers like these and am thankful that each week I can watch a few hours of it for free!

One thought on “Makes My Heart Dance!

  1. Pingback: My Best of 2010 « emily eyes

Leave a Reply

