The Great Boot Hunt of 2010

To piggy-back my last post about fall fashion, I have to confess that I have boots on the brain. Ever since posting that picture of those beautiful Boden boots, I feel like it’s time to find a new pair before all the good ones are picked over.

I try to be reasonable about boot purchases every fall and winter because good pairs are spendy and I’m not made of money. However, I always try to have a few staples on hand: dressy black boot, casual brown boot, semi-dressy brown boot and wild card suede boot. Last year I tried to be responsible and didn’t buy any new brown boots, instead getting new soles on my old ones that were wearing thin. However, after another winter full of snow, ice and salt, it’s time they retire.

So, in the early phases of my search, here’s how the hunt for a new brown boot breaks down:

Criteria: Casual enough to be worn with skinny jeans yet can be worn with leggings and a dress; must not squish my will-never-be-right surgery foot (therefore must be comfortable enough to wear for hours on end); must have solid structure – no slouching; and must fit within my limited budget.

The Contenders:

Lumiani Lindsay

 

Indigo by Clarks Proctor

 

Corso Como Rhonda

 

 Frye Melissa Button

 

Dolce Vita Envy

 

Miz Mooz Kent Riding Boot

 

Eliminated: (thanks to a trip to Nordstrom shoe department today)

Frye Jane – squished my bad foot (and yes, I know they’ll stretch)

 

Chinese Laundry Trust Me – very slouchy around the ankles although I’m craving an over-the-knee pair of boots this year

 

The Frontrunner:

 

Corso Como Rhonda – can’t wait to get a pair on my feet and see how they feel!
P.S. If you’re looking for some inexpensive cute boots that you don’t mind replacing after a season, check out these from Target…

 

 

Kachiri Leather Americana Boots

 Kamischel Suede Boots

  

Kaden Tall Buckle Boots

2 thoughts on “The Great Boot Hunt of 2010

  1. LOVE this post! I’ve been thinking recently that I’m in desperate need of some good tall brown boots. This gives me some great starting points! :)

Leave a Reply

