Trimming the Turkey-Day Table

I’m pretty pumped about co-hosting our family for Thanksgiving this year with my sister, and in traditional Emily fashion, will probably go overboard with the decor and details for a small meal for my siblings and parents. I can’t help it — I love hostessing and have always been the one making name cards and perfectly-cut pads of butter for our Thanksgiving meal of six growing up.

Luckily my kind mother has been nice enough to entertain my whims during our Thanksgivings thus far, busting out the sterling silver and china for our casual holiday dinners, creating more work for herself in the process. I’m excited to give her a break this year and flex my hostessing muscles but I’ve quickly realized entertaining in a small apartment is going to come with challenges. (Particularly since my dishware is a haphazard collection of “that is adorable!” and “what is that?”)

Luckily, my sister and I have an eerily similar sense of style, so most of the things we own either match or go together quite well. Between the two of us, I think we’ll be able to pull together something beautiful. Here’s where my head’s at for table decor, given what we already own and a few things I wish I owned. It’s a bit of rustic harvest with a pop of sparkle:

 

 

Clockwise from top right: Image from HGTV.com, tied napkins from the genius Design*Sponge, sequined squirrel from West Elm,mason jar drink from theknot.com, pinecone salt and pepper shakers from West Elm, tree stump vase from the former Takashimaya NY, floral arrangement from Poppies & Posies, gingham tablecloth. (Links coming soon, WordPress is having issues.)

 

In my book, Thanksgiving isn’t complete without a sequined squirrel at your table! (And $5 goes to my favorite charity- St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital.)

2 thoughts on “Trimming the Turkey-Day Table

Leave a Reply

