Bakin’ and Bacon

I had a pork epiphany earlier this year after having some transcendental pork belly at Corner Table in Minneapolis, moving it from the list of “Things I Love” to “Five Things I Can’t Live Without.” So now whenever I see anything with a little bit of piggie, desserts and all, I just can’t help myself.

Now, I realize making desserts with bacon is very 2008/2009, but that doesn’t mean it still doesn’t taste good in 2010 and won’t in 2011, so I say “Keep it coming!” 

Here are some favorites I’m craving right now:

Brown Butter, Bacon and Chocolate Chip Cookies
Tennessee Locavore

 

 

Bacon Caramels
Not Without Salt

 

Browned Butter Candied Bacon Rice Krispy Treats
Cook. Eat. Play. Repeat.
(I’ve had the pleasure of eating these made by the very talented Kristen herself and they are amazing!)
 


 

And, if you’re looking for a last-minute Christmas gift for a carnivore on your list, check out the cookbook Primal Cuts: Cooking with America’s Best Butchers. The Huffington Post and New York Magazine, among others, have rated it one of the best cookbooks of 2010. I have a copy and am loving it thus far because not only am I clueless around all meat except a skinless, boneless chicken breast, but I’m recently fascinated by butchering. I know some people don’t believe in eating meat, but I believe in a farm’s cycle of life when managed responsibly and respectfully. Luckily, there are a lot of farmers, butchers and chefs who do just that. (You can even spot Corner Table’s Chef Scott Pampuch in the pages of this book!)

My favorite part of the book:

Four Things An Animal Must Have:

1. A Good Life – A healthy life with natural feed and ample clean space to move around (just like for people).
2. A Good Death – No trauma when being transported, which often leads to shock.
3. A Good Butcher – Someone who knows how to select the right parts and cut them in a way that brings out its best qualities.
4. A Good Cook – Someone who can dignify the animal and all those who labors led it to this table.

Leave a Reply

