Let it Happen

Tomorrow is my last day at my job and my last full day in Chicago. It still hasn’t fully sunken in that I’m packing up and moving to Boston this weekend but know that it’s exactly what I need to do.

If you know me well, you know that this decision hasn’t been without struggle and neither will be the transition. As someone who struggles with anxiety, each big change in my life is a fight against fear, discomfort and doubt. But I rarely let it stand in my way.

It always seems when I’m in need of a helpful meditation, one finds its way to me. I had no doubt that when I picked up my favorite book of daily meditations (Journey to the Heart) today, it would somehow relate to this journey. I wasn’t disappointed.

“Oct 27: Have You Been Working Too Hard?

Have you been working too hard at your job, at life, at your spiritual progress? Have you been working too hard on your relationships with people, on trying to gain insights, or on trying to figure out where to go or what to do next?

Many of us have had to work hard. To get from where we were to where we are, we had to push, force, put one foot in front of the other. At least we thought we did. But life doesn’t have to be that hard. Not anymore. The biggest task, the smallest tast, the task of living our lives doesn’t have to be that difficult.

There’s a natural rhythm for everything that happens along the way. There’s a natural rhythm and order for all we’re to do. Yes, there are times to begin. Yes, there are times to put one foot in front of the other and go forward. But the joy, the service, the way of life we’re seeking doesn’t come from force. It comes naturally, easily, much more easily than you think. Stop pushing so hard, and see how quickly that rhythm finds you.

You don’t have to make life happen. In fact, you can’t. Relax. Let go. And let it happen.”

Given tomorrow’s meditation is called “Let Yourself Take Side Trips” and Saturday’s is “The Best Is Yet to Come,” I think the book was written just for me.

3 thoughts on “Let it Happen

Leave a Reply

