Red Carpet Awards

Thank goodness for the glitz and glam of the Hollywood awards season to distract us from the cold winter lull that takes place after the holidays.

Last night I placed myself front and center the television with some chinese take-out, red wine and my phone (for texting fashion hits and misses to my mom and friend Christine) for one of my favorite Sunday nights of the year – The Golden Globes.

Poor Chris had to stand in for far away girlfriends/sister/mom and listen to me chatter on about over-rated movies (Midnight in Paris), new shows to DVR (Downtown Abbey), and how terrible Meryl Streep always looks.

In exchange, I only watched the red carpet arrivals during commercial breaks of the NFL playoff game until the show officially started. So although most of the red carpet looks I only caught online and during the awards show, I was still able to assess just about every dress in the building.

Here are my takes on this year’s red carpet fashions:

BEST USE OF COLOR:

Paula Patton in Monique Lhuillier and Kwiat

Kelly McDonald in Neil Lane


MOST FIGURE-FLATTERING:

Amber Riley in Neil Lane

FABULOUS USE OF SEQUINS:

Salma Hayek in Gucci

Julie Bowen in Reem Acra (have to point out I dislike her hair)

ย Diane Lane in Reem Acra & Neil Lane

BEST IN RED:

Stacy Keibler

MY TOP THREE:ย 

Julianne Moore in Chanel Couture (the hair, makeup and accessories are perfection!)

Sofia Vergara in Vera Wang (love the color and sleek side-swept hair)

ย Shailene Woodley in Marchesa (that’s actually not a strapless dress, it has a sheer top!)

Leave a Reply

